Corobrik-SAIA Awards celebrate architectural excellence

SAIA president Sindile Ngonyama.

THE cream of South Africa’s architectural talent was acknowledged for their talent and skill at the 2013/14 Corobrik-SAIA Awards of Excellence and Merit at a gala dinner at the ICC Durban on 1 August.

Presented by Corobrik and the South African Institute for Architects (SAIA), the awards represent the highest accolade that can be awarded to a building in the country.

“It is heart-warming to note that the majority of the projects submitted by our members were of an exceptionally high standard,” said SAIA president, Sindile Ngonyama.

He said several office-bearers from the International Union of Architects, who were currently in Durban for the world congress, attended the awards evening and it was apparent that they supported the adjudicating panel’s view that the winning projects were on a par with outstanding architectural design globally.

The competition is open to SAIA members nationally who enter their best work. The Corobrik-SAIA Award for Excellence, the highest tribute, recognises exceptional contributions to the field of architecture. They have been presented every two years since their introduction in 1990. The Awards of Merit, introduced in 1999, acknowledge good design or a significant architectural achievement. The awards cycle begins with Awards for Architecture presented by SAIA regional institutes in the first year, followed by the Corobrik-SAIA Awards of Merit and Excellence the second year.

Eight Awards of Excellence, 14 Awards of Merit and two Special Commendations were bestowed on the architects responsible for 24 projects selected from 49 entries from eight SAIA regions. The winning projects ranged from residential units and public buildings to the restoration of heritage sites and an academic research project.

Latest News


Next Story x
Don’t miss CROW’s open day